Majors


  Established in 2012, Southern University of Science and Technology is a young university aiming to become a top research university in the world. In recent years, the university has attracted many outstanding researchers.

  The Department of Mathematics currently has 30 full-time faculty members, including 5 chair professors, 6 professors, 1 associate professor, 5 assistant professors and 4 visiting assistant professors. Three of the professors are members of the “Recruitment Program of Global Experts” and 2 are “Chang Jiang Scholars”, 2 are winners of the National Science Foundation Award for Distinguished Young Scholars, and 1 has received the “Young Overseas High-level Talents” award. In addition to the 21 research professors, there are 9 teaching professors dedicated to high quality teaching, and the department is expected to grow quickly in coming years.

  Faculty members examine all aspects of mathematics including basic mathematics, applied mathematics, financial mathematics, computational mathematics and statistics. They have a broad vision, profound knowledge, a strong sense of responsibility and experience in teaching and scientific research in well-known universities and research institutions both in China and abroad. They teach the basic theories and methods of mathematical sciences, with a focus on developing students’ ability to design mathematical models and solve practical problems with computers.


Program of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

  There are many jobs and opportunities for further academic development for undergraduate students in mathematics and applied mathematics. Government agencies, banks, insurance companies, securities investment companies, software developers, market survey and analysis companies, e-commerce companies and many high-tech companies all have job opportunities for undergraduate students in mathematics and applied mathematics. Students who wish to pursue graduate studies in mathematics and applied mathematics can also find many opportunities either in China or overseas.

  The objective of the undergraduate programs in mathematics and applied mathematics is to produce outstanding students with a solid foundation in mathematics, a broad knowledge base in related areas such scientific computing and other areas of science, and excellent ability of critical thinking and working independently. The department provides a wide verity of courses that will meet the needs of students interested in pure mathematics and applied mathematics. The ultimate training objective of the undergraduate programs is to enable students to excel in their future career choices, whether they choose to work in government or industries, or to become mathematical scientists.


Program of Financial Mathematics

  In 2012 the Chinese Ministry of Education approved financial mathematics as a major in the field of economics. At present, more than 60 universities have been granted the right confer degrees in financial mathematics. Students enroll in schools or departments of mathematics and can obtain a Bachelor’s degree in Economics.

  In China option trading began in 2015. With the rapid development of networks, the scale of high-frequency trading via networks and aided by computer programming will also increase. In order to prevent financial crisis and to maintain the stability of financial markets, talents of financial risk management who have solid abilities in financial modeling and quantitative analysis are in urgent need. As a result, there is an urgent need in financial markets for talents with excellent foundation of mathematics, superb computer programming skills and a good understanding of finance. It is of great significance to develop the financial mathematics major well in order to cultivate high-end financial talents for China’s financial industry.

  The objective for undergraduates majoring in financial mathematics is to cultivate high-level, applied and interdisciplinary financial talents who possess good professional ethics, solid theoretical basis of financial mathematics, superior abilities in data processing and computer programming, high level of foreign languages as well as innovative and entrepreneurial spirit, and are able to engage in financial data processing, model analysis, quantitative investment and risk management in all kinds of financial institutions, and to lay a theoretical foundation for them to pursue postgraduate studies.


Program of Statistics

  The BSc program in Statistics provides students with a solid mathematics foundation and essential knowledge for data collection, data modelling and data analysis. It prepares students for graduate studies in statistics and related areas. Students with a BSc degree in statistics can also find job opportunities in government agencies and private industries.

系部专业介绍


  南方科技大学作为一所年轻的、以建立世界一流研究型大学为目标的大学,吸纳了一大批精力充沛、在数学科学领域受过系统训练并已取得显著成绩的教授加盟。

  数学系已引进一批非常优秀的专业人才,共有专职教师30人,有讲座教授5名,教授6名,副教授1名,助理教授5名,访问助理教授4名,其中千人计划3名,长江学者2名,国家杰出青年科学基金获得者2名,青年千人1名。此外,还有教学序列人员9名。研究领域涉及数学的各个方向,包括基础数学、应用数学、金融数学、计算数学、统计学等,大部分专任教师拥有国外著名高等院校和研究机构的教学科研经验,视野开阔、知识深厚、责任心强。

  主要讲授数学科学的基本理论与方法,重点培养学生运用数学知识建立数学模型和使用计算机解决实际问题的能力。


数学与应用数学专业

  本专业毕业生除了可以继续攻读研究生或留学深造,还可以到党政机关、高等院校、科研部门从事管理、教学、科研工作,也可到银行、证券投资公司、计算机公司、保险公司或其他高新技术企业,从事软件开发、市场调研与分析、电子商务等工作。

  数学系的本科生培养目标是,培养具有扎实基础、深厚功底、广泛视野和活跃思维的数学人才。根据同学在纯粹数学、应用数学或是应用科学方面的兴趣,因材施教,为他们在数学学习、学术交流和升学深造方面创造条件,帮助他们成长为出色的数学工作者或是其它方面的青年学子。


金融数学专业

  2012年教育部批准金融数学为经济学的一个特设专业。现在已经有60多所高校获得了金融数学本科专业授予权备案。而这些学校都是在数学学院或数学系招生和培养,毕业时学生可以获得经济学学士学位。

  我国从2015年开始了期权的交易。而且随着网络技术的迅速发展,通过计算机编程再通过网络进行高频交易的规模也将越来越大。另一方面,防范金融危机的发生,维护金融市场的稳定,也迫切需要金融风险管理的人才,他们也需要有非常扎实的金融建模和定量分析的能力。因此金融市场对于有良好的数学基础,有熟练的计算机编程能力,又懂金融的人才的需求越来越迫切。办好金融数学专业,为我国金融事业培养高端金融人才有重要意义。

  金融数学的本科生培养目标是培养具有良好的职业道德素养,有扎实的金融数学理论基础,较高的数据处理和计算机编程能力和外语水平,富有创新和进取精神,能够在各类金融机构从事金融数据处理,模型分析,量化投资与风险管理等高层次、应用型、复合型金融专门人才;并为学生毕业后继续深造攻读研究生打好理论基础。